top of page
Search

Chicony Camera Assistant Software with Toshiba Laptop

I'm having a problem with my built in webcam on Toshiba Satellite A300. I have Windows 7 and just downloaded latest Win 7 driver for Chicony Camera Assistant Software from toshiba.ca. Camera software will still not allow me to open camera - keeps saying "Webcam is either disabled or has failed. Please check your webcam settings" Camera is not listed in Device Manager.


This software package contains the latest drivers built in for XP, Vista and now Windows 7, plus a file called traybar.exe which is supposed to run in the Taskbar to control various setting for the webcam.


After downloading the software, installing and re-booting I just cannot get the Camera software to open.


My webcam is not listed in Device Manager under Imaging - I know it's a Chicony camera built into my laptop.


The message I keep getting "Webcam is either disabled or has failed. Please check your webcam settings" is as far as I can get.


I've tried double clicking traybar.exe and get the same error message as above.


Because the webcam is not showing up in Device Manager I can't update the drivers any other way nor have I been able to find any solutions from the Windows Troubleshooter.

29 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page